Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

Brexit: Possible scenarios

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (hereinafter “the United Kingdom”) officially declared on 29 March 2017 that it was withdrawing from the EU after a majority had voted in favour of this in a referendum held in June 2016. According to the EU Treaty, the United Kingdom’s membership automatically ends on 29 March 2019, unless a withdrawal agreement comes into force beforehand. This deadline can only be extended via a unanimous resolution of the 27 Heads of State and Government of the EU, in agreement with the United Kingdom. No changes will take place until 29 March 2019 for insured persons, companies and institutions to which the regulations on the coordination of social security systems or the Patient Mobility Directive apply. Persons who are covered by statutory health insurance can also initially continue to receive treatment in the United Kingdom via their European health insurance card. This also applies to reimbursements on the basis of the Patient Mobility Directive when patients travel to the UK specifically in order to receive treatment.

What are the scenarios?

Scenario 1: A withdrawal agreement

The withdrawal agreement constitutes the agreement between the withdrawal candidate and the EU as provided for in the EU Treaty. It contains the conditions for separation and the arrangements for a transitional period. It is during this transitional period that the future relations are to be negotiated on. The withdrawal agreement negotiated between the EU and the United Kingdom provides for a transitional period until 31 December 2020, during which the regulations on the coordination of social security systems are to continue to apply (e.g. for tourists, posted workers, pensioners and students). These are Regulations (EC) No. 883/2004, (EC) No. 987/2009 and (EC) No. 859/2003 in conjunction with Regulation (EEC) No. 1408/71. The agreement does not provide for the Patient Mobility Directive (Directive 2011/24/EU) to continue to apply.

The 27 Heads of State and Government of the EU approved the withdrawal agreement negotiated with the United Kingdom on 25 November 2018. In order to enter into force, the withdrawal agreement must also be approved by the UK Parliament and the European Parliament.

The UK Parliament refused to approve the withdrawal agreement with the EU on 15 January 2019. The current version of the withdrawal agreement has thus failed. It can only succeed if there are renegotiations with the EU and if it is put to the vote again.

Scenario 2: A disorderly exit (no-deal Brexit)

After the UK Parliament refused to approve the withdrawal agreement with the EU on 15 January 2019, it is now quite possible that the United Kingdom will leave the EU in a disorderly manner, and that there will be a so-called “no-deal Brexit”. This would entail the United Kingdom leaving the EU on 29 March 2019 without an agreement. That means that there would be no rules for the separation and for a transitional period until such time as the future relations are settled.

Should it come to a disorderly Brexit, the Agreement between the Federal Republic of Germany and Great Britain, dated 20 April 1960, relating to social security, might have to be applied again from 30 March 2019 onwards, as the abovementioned regulations would cease to apply in relations with the United Kingdom from that time on. This legal question has not yet been conclusively resolved. We will provide you with up-to-date information on this as soon as we have it. If the German-British social security agreement is not applicable, the United Kingdom is to be regarded as a non-treaty foreign country, i.e. a country with which no agreement has been concluded on social security. The scope of the German-British social security agreement is not identical to that of the abovementioned European regulations. It does not for example cover unemployment and long-term care insurance.

The Federal Cabinet therefore introduced a supplementary Act in December 2018 in order to avoid such loopholes in the agreements. This Act creates legal certainty for those who are particularly affected by withdrawal with regard to their insurance status, claims and benefits in the event of a no-deal Brexit.

Scenario 3: An extension of the withdrawal period

The United Kingdom could apply for an extension of the withdrawal period, but this would require the approval of the other 27 EU States. The EU Heads of State and Government declared in December 2018 that compelling reasons would be needed for this. What exactly such compelling reasons might be is currently unclear; another Brexit referendum or new elections might be conceivable.

Scenario 4: Withdrawal from Brexit

The European Court of Justice has made it clear that the United Kingdom can unilaterally rescind its intention to leave the EU. Such a withdrawal from Brexit would be possible until 29 March 2019, provided that a withdrawal agreement had not yet entered into force. However, given the current political situation in the United Kingdom, this scenario, as well as a second referendum on whether or not to remain in the EU being held before the planned exit date of 29 March 2019, seems almost impossible.

What do the individual scenarios mean for me if I need treatment in the United Kingdom after 29 March 2019?

Should any of scenarios 1, 3 and 4 occur, there will be no legal changes for the time being. All the information provided on our website will therefore continue to apply unchanged.

Scenario 2: A disorderly exit (no-deal Brexit)

In the event of a disorderly departure on the part of the United Kingdom, the Patient Mobility Directive (Directive 2011/24/EU) will cease to apply after 29 March 2019.

The Federal Government has drafted a Bill (PDF, 384 KB)for this eventuality containing provisions on the coordination of social security (health, long-term care, accident, pension and unemployment insurance). The aim of the draft Bill is to cushion any unfair hardships that might be caused by the fact of European law ceasing to apply in order to be able to continue to insure persons who are covered by German statutory health and long-term care insurance in the United Kingdom, as well as anyone planning to return to Germany after Brexit, or in the event of illness or need for long-term care. The Act will however only enter into force in the event of a disorderly Brexit taking place without a withdrawal agreement. The corresponding transitional arrangement for the reimbursement of planned treatment is set out in section 14 of the draft Bill. In accordance with this section, costs will be reimbursed as before if

  • the first of the benefits were taken up by 29 March 2019 and continue beyond that date, or
  • if prior authorisation from the health insurance fund is required in order to have costs reimbursed/to claim benefits, provided that the application was submitted by 29 March 2019, but the authorisation was not given and the benefits were not taken up until after this date.

If a benefit is taken up in the United Kingdom after 29 March 2019, section 13 of the draft Bill also provides for reimbursement of costs under certain circumstances in the event of a disorderly withdrawal. Please ask your health insurance fund for detailed information regarding your individual case.

More information

You will find more information on the websites linked to below should you have any Brexit-related questions

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Privacy Policy for enquiries to EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Brexit: Mögliche Szenarien

Das Vereinigte Königreich Großbritannien und Nordirland (im Folgenden: Vereinigtes Königreich) hat am 29.03.2017 offiziell den Austritt aus der EU erklärt, nachdem sich die Mehrheit in einer Volksabstimmung im Juni 2016 dafür ausgesprochen hatte. Gemäß dem EU-Vertrag endet die Mitgliedschaft des Vereinigten Königreichs automatisch am 29.03.2019, falls nicht vorher ein Austrittsabkommen in Kraft tritt. Diese Frist können die 27 Staats- und Regierungschefs der EU im Einvernehmen mit dem Vereinigten Königreich nur durch einen einstimmigen Beschluss verlängern. Für Versicherte, Unternehmen und Institutionen, bei denen die Verordnungen über die Koordinierung der Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit oder die Patientenmobilitäts-Richtlinie anzuwenden sind, treten bis 29.03.2019 keine Änderungen ein. GKV-Versicherte können sich zunächst auch weiterhin mit ihrer europäischen Krankenversicherungskarte im Vereinigten Königreich behandeln lassen. Dies gilt auch für Erstattungen auf Basis der Patientenmobilitäts-Richtlinie, wenn sich Patientinnen und Patienten gezielt zum Zweck der Behandlung ins Vereinigte Königreich begeben.

Welche Szenarien gibt es?

Szenario 1: Austrittsabkommen

Das Austrittsabkommen ist das vom EU-Vertrag vorgesehene Abkommen zwischen dem Austrittskandidaten und der EU. Es enthält die Bedingungen der Trennung und Regelungen für eine Übergangsphase. In dieser Übergangsphase sollen die zukünftigen Beziehungen ausgehandelt werden. Das zwischen der EU und dem Vereinigten Königreich ausgehandelte Austrittsabkommen sieht eine Übergangsphase bis zum 31.12.2020 vor, in der die Verordnungen über die Koordinierung der Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit weiter Anwendung finden sollen (z. B. für Touristen, entsandte Arbeitnehmer, Rentner, Studierende). Dies sind die Verordnung (EG) Nr. 883/2004, Verordnung (EG) Nr. 987/2009 sowie Verordnung (EG) Nr. 859/2003 in Verbindung mit der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71. Eine weitere Anwendung der Patientenmobilitäts-Richtlinie (RL 2011/24/EU) ist darin nicht vorgesehen.

Die 27 Staats- und Regierungschefs der EU haben dem mit dem Vereinigten Königreich ausgehandelten Austrittsabkommen am 25.11.2018 zugestimmt. Für ein Inkrafttreten muss das Austrittsabkommen auch vom Parlament des Vereinigten Königreichs und Europäischen Parlament gebilligt werden.

Am 15.01.2019 hat das britische Parlament die Zustimmung zum Austrittsabkommen mit der EU verweigert. In der derzeitigen Fassung ist das Austrittsabkommen gescheitert. Es hat nur noch Aussicht auf Erfolg, wenn es Nachverhandlungen mit der EU gibt und es erneut zur Abstimmung gestellt wird.

Szenario 2: Ungeordneter Austritt (no-deal Brexit)

Nachdem das britische Parlament am 15.01.2019 das Austrittsabkommen mit der EU abgelehnt hat, ist es nun durchaus möglich, dass es zu einem ungeordneten Austritt des Vereinigten Königreichs aus der EU kommt und der sogenannte „no- deal Brexit“ eintritt. Das Vereinigte Königreich verlässt dann am 29.03.2019 die EU ohne Vertrag. Das heißt, ohne Regeln für die Trennung und für eine Übergangsphase, bis die künftigen Beziehungen geregelt sind.

Im Falle eines ungeregelten Brexits würde ab dem 30.03.2019 möglicherweise das deutsch-britische Sozialversicherungsabkommen vom 20.04.1960 zwischen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und dem Vereinigten Königreich wieder anzuwenden sein, da ab diesem Zeitpunkt die obengenannten Verordnungen im Verhältnis zum Vereinigten Königreich nicht mehr gelten. Diese Rechtsfrage ist bislang nicht abschließend geklärt. Wir werden hierzu aktuelle Informationen zur Verfügung stellen, sobald uns solche vorliegen. Ist das deutsch-britische Sozialversicherungsabkommen nicht anwendbar, so ist das Vereinigte Königreich als „vertragsloses Ausland“ zu betrachten, d. h. als Staat, mit dem kein Sozialversicherungsabkommen besteht. Das deutsch-britische Sozialversicherungsabkommen ist in seinem Anwendungsbereich nicht deckungsgleich mit den genannten europäischen Verordnungen. So sind beispielsweise die Arbeitslosen- und Pflegeversicherung nicht erfasst.

Um solche vertraglichen Lücken zu vermeiden, hat das Bundeskabinett im Dezember 2018 daher ergänzend ein Gesetz auf den Weg gebracht. Damit wird im Falle des no-deal Brexits Rechtssicherheit für die vom Austritt in besonderem Maße betroffenen Personen in Bezug auf den Versicherungsstatus, Ansprüche und Leistungen geschaffen.

Szenario 3: Verlängerung der Austrittsfrist

Das Vereinigte Königreich könnte eine Verlängerung der Austrittsfrist beantragen, dafür wäre aber die Zustimmung der anderen 27 EU-Staaten nötig. Die Staats- und Regierungschefs der EU erklärten im Dezember 2018, dass dafür triftige Gründe nötig wären. Was genau solche triftigen Gründe sein könnten, ist derzeit unklar; denkbar wären möglicherweise ein weiteres Brexit-Referendum oder Neuwahlen.

Szenario 4: Rücktritt vom Brexit

Der Europäische Gerichtshof hat klargestellt, dass das Vereinigte Königreich den beabsichtigten Austritt aus der EU einseitig zurücknehmen kann. Dieser Rücktritt vom Brexit wäre bis zum 29.03.2019 möglich, sofern ein Austrittsabkommen noch nicht in Kraft getreten ist. Aufgrund der aktuellen politischen Verhältnisse im Vereinigten Königreich scheint dieses Szenario ebenso wie eine zweite Volksabstimmung über den Verbleib in der EU vor dem geplanten Austrittsdatum am 29.03.2019 jedoch nahezu ausgeschlossen.

Was bedeuten die einzelnen Szenarien für mich, wenn ich nach dem 29.03.2019 eine Behandlung im Vereinigten Königreich benötige?

Im Falle der Szenarien 1, 3 und 4 treten rechtlich zunächst keine Änderungen ein. Alle Informationen auf unserer Internetseite gelten daher unverändert weiter.

Szenario 2: Ungeordneter Austritt (no- deal Brexit)

Bei einem ungeregelten Austritt des Vereinigten Königreichs endet die Anwendbarkeit der Patientenmobilitäts-Richtlinie (Richtlinie 2011/24/EU) mit Ablauf des 29.03.2019.

Für diesen Fall hat die Bundesregierung einen Gesetzentwurf mit Regelungen zur Koordinierung der Sozialen Sicherheit (Kranken-, Pflege-, Unfall-, Renten- und Arbeitslosenversicherung) erarbeitet. Ziel des Gesetzentwurfs (PDF, 384 KB) ist es, unbillige Härten durch den Wegfall des EU-Rechts aufzufangen, um Versicherte der deutschen gesetzlichen Kranken- und Pflegeversicherung im Vereinigten Königreich sowie solche, die ggf. eine Rückkehr nach Deutschland nach dem Brexit planen, weiterhin im Krankheits- und Pflegefall absichern zu können. Das Gesetz tritt allerdings nur im Falle eines ungeregelten Brexit ohne Austrittsabkommen in Kraft. Die entsprechende Übergangsregelung für die Erstattung geplanter Behandlungen ist dort in § 14 des Gesetzentwurfs geregelt. Danach werden Kosten wie bisher erstattet, wenn

  • die Leistungsinanspruchnahme bis zum 29.03.2019 begonnen wurde und darüber hinaus andauert oder
  • wenn für die Kostenerstattung/Leistungsinanspruchnahme eine Vorabgenehmigung der Krankenkasse erforderlich ist, der Antrag bis zum 29.03.2019 gestellt wurde, die Genehmigung und die Leistungsinanspruchnahme jedoch erst danach erfolgen.

Wird eine Leistung nach dem 29.03.2019 im Vereinigten Königreich in Anspruch genommen, sieht der Gesetzentwurf in § 13 bei einem ungeordneten Austritt ebenfalls unter bestimmten Rahmenbedingungen eine Kostenerstattung vor. Lassen Sie sich im Einzelfall bitte von Ihrer Krankenkasse umfassend informieren.

Weitergehende Informationen

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801

Zum Online-Kontaktformular

Datenschutzrechtliche Informationen im Zusammenhang mit Anfragen an EU-PATIENTEN.DE