National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare
National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Planned treatment in Germany

We will explain to you below what is understood as planned treatment and why it is important to distinguish between planned and unplanned treatment.

There are many reasons why treatment in Germany might make particular sense for you, for instance:

- If you want to be treated in Germany by a medical professional who has been recommended to you,

- If the medical professional who has been treating you for many years has moved his/her place of work to Germany, and you would like to continue to be treated by him/her,

- If your medical professional in Germany is already particularly familiar with your symptoms because of treatment that was provided by him/her in the past,

- If you live near to the border, and the closest medical professional in Germany is much closer,

- If you can only be cared for and supported during the treatment by relatives in Germany,

- If your health insurer only meets a part of the treatment costs, and the treatment is cheaper in Germany.

All of these reasons however have in common that you are only travelling to Germany because you wish to take up a healthcare service here and not in your home country. The treatment is also considered to have been planned if you deliberately combine your holiday stay in Germany with a medical service although the treatment could already have been carried out before your holiday, or could be postponed until after the holiday.

EU law provides for different legal entitlements and procedures with regard to planned treatment than to cases of unplanned treatment in Germany. We have put together some information for you in the document and link box below at the end of this page regarding the preconditions under which your health insurer will contribute to the treatment costs incurred in Germany. Since the treatment procedure may differ from that in your home state, we have also provided information there as to what you need to take into account before, during and after the treatment, as well as checklists for out-patient and in-patient treatment.

You will also find information regarding physicians and hospitals specialising in treating rare diseases in the document and link box below.

Documents and Links

Who pays for planned treatment in Germany? Even if you have health insurance in another EU country, you can still undergo planned medical treatment in Germany. Whether your healthcare insurer contributes towards the treatment costs incurred in Germany however depends on certain preconditions. Before treatment in Germany Before undergoing treatment in Germany, you should ask your doctor or dentist in Germany what information and documents he/she needs in advance in order to ensure that treatment is successful. What should I consider during treatment? As a patient, you should make sure that the doctor or dentist includes essential information in your medical records. This is important for future treatment, amongst other things. After undergoing treatment in Germany Practical questions may arise after undergoing treatment in Germany. Your doctor or dentist may for instance issue you with a bill which you cannot understand, or the pharmacist in your home country may not understand a German prescription. Checklists for treatment in Germany You have health insurance in a Member State and would like to undergo treatment in the surgery of a doctor or dentist or in a hospital. In this case, the following checklists will provide you with a brief overview of the aspects which you should take into account before, during and after treatment. Rare diseases Here we have compiled information about how to find doctors or hospitals in Germany specialising in treatment of specific rare diseases. Information (in German) on contract - doctor care of individuals who have health insurance abroad Information (in German) on contract - dentist care of individuals who have health insurance abroad Information (in German) on in-patient/outpatient hospital treatment of individuals who have health insurance abroad

Regional sources of information

You are living in a border region and you are searching for further regional information sources. Click here for an overview of institutions that could be helpful.

National information media

You will find more national information available here if you want to find out what treatment is available for specific diseases, or if you need further information on the topic of health.

Checklists

Information on treatment in Germany at a glance

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung
Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Geplante Behandlungen in Deutschland

Im Folgenden erläutern wir Ihnen, was unter einer geplanten Behandlung verstanden wird und wieso es wichtig ist, zwischen einer geplanten und ungeplanten Behandlung zu unterscheiden.

Es gibt zahlreiche Gründe dafür, warum eine Behandlung in Deutschland für Sie persönlich besonders sinnvoll sein kann, z. B.:

- Sie möchten sich von einem Ihnen empfohlenen Behandler in Deutschland behandeln lassen,

- Ihr langjähriger Behandler hat seinen Arbeitsplatz nach Deutschland verlegt und Sie möchten von diesem weiterbehandelt werden,

- Ihr Behandler in Deutschland kennt sich bereits aufgrund einer vorangegangenen von ihm durchgeführten Behandlung besonders gut mit Ihrem Krankheitsbild aus,

- Sie wohnen in Grenznähe und die Entfernung zum nächsten Behandler in Deutschland ist deutlich kürzer,

-Sie können während einer Behandlung nur von Angehörigen in Deutschland betreut und unterstützt werden,

- Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger übernimmt nur einen Teil der Behandlungskosten und die Behandlung ist in Deutschland günstiger.

Allen Gründen ist jedoch gemein, dass Sie nur deshalb nach Deutschland reisen, weil Sie hier, und nicht in Ihrem Heimatland, eine Gesundheitsdienstleistung in Anspruch nehmen möchten. Geplant ist eine Behandlung auch dann, wenn Sie Ihren Urlaubsaufenthalt in Deutschland gezielt mit einer medizinischen Dienstleistung verknüpfen, obwohl die Behandlung bereits vor Ihrem Urlaub hätte durchgeführt werden können, oder bis auf die Zeit nach dem Urlaub aufgeschoben werden könnte.

Das EU-Recht knüpft an den Fall einer geplanten Behandlung andere Rechtsansprüche und Verfahrensweisen an, als an den Fall einer ungeplanten Behandlung in Deutschland. Informationen unter welchen Voraussetzungen sich Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger an den in Deutschland entstehenden Behandlungskosten beteiligt, haben wir in der untenstehenden Dokumenten- und Linkbox am Ende dieser Seite für Sie zusammengestellt. Da sich der Behandlungsablauf unter Umständen von dem in Ihrem Heimatstaat unterscheidet, finden Sie dort auch Informationen, was Sie vor, während und nach der Behandlung beachten sollten sowie Checklisten für ambulante und stationäre Behandlungen.

Informationen zu Ärztinnen und Ärzten bzw. Krankenhäusern, die sich auf die Behandlung seltener Krankheiten spezialisiert haben, finden Sie ebenfalls in der untenstehenden Dokumenten- und Linkbox.

Dokumente und Links

Wer trägt die Kosten für geplante Behandlungen in Deutschland? Auch wenn Sie im EU-Ausland krankenversichert sind können Sie sich geplant in Deutschland medizinisch behandeln lassen. Ob sich Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger an den in Deutschland entstehenden Behandlungskosten beteiligt, hängt jedoch von bestimmten Voraussetzungen ab. Vor der Behandlung in Deutschland Bevor Sie sich in Deutschland behandeln lassen, sollten Sie die Ärztin oder den Arzt/die Zahnärztin oder den Zahnarzt in Deutschland fragen, welche Informationen und Dokumente dieser im Voraus für eine erfolgreiche Behandlung benötigt. Was muss ich während der Behandlung beachten? Als Patient sollten Sie darauf achten, dass der Arzt/Zahnarzt wesentliche Informationen über Ihre Behandlung in Ihre Patientenakte aufnimmt. Das ist unter anderem für künftige Behandlungen wichtig. Nach der Behandlung in Deutschland Nach einer Behandlung in Deutschland können sich praktische Fragen ergeben. Ihre Ärztin oder Ihr Arzt/Ihre Zahnärztin oder Ihr Zahnarzt stellt Ihnen z. B. eine Rechnung aus, die Sie nicht nachvollziehen können oder der Apotheker Ihres Heimatlandes versteht ein deutsches Rezept nicht. Checklisten für die Behandlung in Deutschland Sie sind in einem Mitgliedstaat krankenversichert und wollen sich in der Praxis einer Ärztin oder eines Arztes/einer Zahnärztin oder eines Zahnarztes oder in einem Krankenhaus behandeln lassen. In diesem Fall geben Ihnen die folgenden Checklisten einen kurzen Überblick über die Aspekte, die Sie vor, während und nach der Behandlung berücksichtigen sollten. Seltene Krankheiten Im Folgenden haben wir Informationen für Sie zusammengestellt, wie Sie in Deutschland Ärztinnen und Ärzte beziehungsweise Krankenhäuser finden können, die sich auf die Behandlung bestimmter seltener Krankheiten spezialisiert haben. Informationen zur vertragsärztlichen Versorgung von Personen, die im EU-Ausland krankenversichert sind Informationen zur vertragszahnärztlichen Behandlung von Personen, die im EU-Ausland krankenversichert sind. Informationen zur stationären/ambulanten Krankenhausbehandlung von Personen, die im EU-Ausland krankenversichert sind

Informationsangebote in Grenzregionen

Sie leben in einer Grenzregion und suchen weitere regionale Informationsangebote? Hier haben wir eine Übersicht über für Sie hilfreiche Institutionen zusammengestellt.

Überregionale Informationsträger

Wenn Sie Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu bestimmten Krankheiten oder weiterführende Informationen rund um das Thema Gesundheit suchen, finden Sie hier weitere überregionale Informationsangebote.

Checklisten

Informationen zur Behandlung in Deutschland auf einen Blick