Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

Patient transports

What do I do if I am taken to hospital in Germany by ambulance and receive an invoice from the patient transport company?

Travel expenses are only paid by the statutory health insurance funds in Germany if the journeys are undertaken for reasons which are medically vital. Travel expenses to attend out-patient treatment are therefore only paid if they have been pre-authorised by a German health insurance fund. Persons with statutory insurance are obliged to make co-payments of up to 10.00 Euro per journey towards the travel expenses in Germany.

As persons who have health insurance in other EU countries receive exactly the same status via their European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) or Provisional Replacement Certificate (PRC) as if they had statutory health insurance in Germany, these co-payments also apply to them. If they need to be taken to hospital in Germany by ambulance during their stay, as a rule the transport company will approach the hospital and be informed by the latter of the assisting German health insurance fund to which they can address their invoice. It may sometimes happen that you personally receive the invoice from the patient transport company asking you to pay the transport costs. If the patient transport took place for reasons which are medically vital, you do not have to pay the bill, apart from the co-payments. In the case of hospital treatment ask the patient transport company to send the invoice to the assisting German health insurance fund which you selected in the "Patient’s Declaration European Health Insurance". If you no longer know which German health insurance fund you entered in the "Patient’s Declaration European Health Insurance", please contact the hospital’s accounting department, who can tell you which assisting German health insurance fund it was.

If you have already been released from hospital and need a patient transport for out-patient medical treatment, you need to obtain the prior authorisation of the assisting German health insurance fund before undergoing this treatment. You may otherwise find that the costs incurred as a result of these journeys cannot be billed via the EHIC.

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Finding healthcare providers

You will find here a list of links to search engines available on the Internet, with explanations

Regional sources of information

You are living in a border region and you are searching for further regional information sources. Click here for an overview of institutions that could be helpful.

National information media

You will find more national information available here if you want to find out what treatment is available for specific diseases, or if you need further information on the topic of health.

Checklists

Information on treatment in Germany at a glance

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Krankentransporte

Was mache ich, wenn ich mit einem Rettungsfahrzeug in ein Krankenhaus in Deutschland gebracht werde und eine Rechnung vom Krankentransportunternehmen erhalte?

Fahrtkosten werden nur dann von den gesetzlichen Krankenkassen in Deutschland übernommen, wenn die Fahrten aus zwingenden medizinischen Gründen erfolgt sind. Fahrtkosten zu einer ambulanten Behandlung werden deshalb nur getragen, wenn sie zuvor von einer deutschen Krankenkasse genehmigt worden sind. Bei den Fahrtkosten sind in Deutschland Zuzahlungen bis zu 10,00 Euro pro Fahrt von den gesetzlich krankenversicherten Personen zu entrichten.

Da im EU-Ausland krankenversicherte Personen mit Ihrer Europäischen Krankenversicherungskarte (EHIC) oder Provisorischen Ersatzbescheinigung (PEB) genauso gestellt sind wie gesetzlich in Deutschland krankenversicherte Personen, gelten diese Zuzahlungen auch für Sie. Müssen Sie während Ihres Aufenthaltes in Deutschland mit einem Krankenwagen in ein Krankenhaus eingeliefert werden, wird sich das Krankentransportunternehmen in der Regel an das Krankenhaus wenden und von diesem die Information erhalten, über welche aushelfende deutsche Krankenkasse abzurechnen ist. Manchmal kann es vorkommen, dass Sie persönlich die Rechnung des Krankentransportunternehmens mit der Aufforderung erhalten, die Transportkosten zu begleichen. Ist der Krankentransport aus zwingenden medizinischen Gründen erfolgt, müssen Sie – außer den Zuzahlungen - die Rechnung nicht bezahlen. Bitten Sie das Krankentransportunternehmen die Rechnung an die in der „Patientenerklärung Europäische Krankenversicherung" gewählte aushelfende deutsche Krankenkasse zu senden. Sollten Sie nicht mehr wissen, welche Krankenkasse von Ihnen im Krankenhaus in der „Patientenerklärung Europäische Krankenversicherung" eingetragen wurde, nehmen Sie bitte Kontakt mit der Abrechnungsstelle des Krankenhauses auf. Dort wird man Ihnen die aushelfende deutsche Krankenkasse mitteilen.

Sollten Sie bereits aus dem Krankenhaus entlassen worden sein und zwecks ambulanter medizinischer Behandlung einen Krankentransport benötigen, ist im Vorfeld dieser Behandlung die Genehmigung der aushelfenden deutschen Krankenkasse einzuholen. Ansonsten kann es passieren, dass die Kosten dieser Fahrten nicht über die EHIC abgerechnet werden können.

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Zum Online-Kontaktformular

Gesundheits- dienstleister finden

Wir bieten Ihnen hier eine kommentierte Linkliste zu Suchmaschinen im Internet.

Informationsangebote in Grenzregionen

Sie leben in einer Grenzregion und suchen weitere regionale Informationsangebote? Hier haben wir eine Übersicht über für Sie hilfreiche Institutionen zusammengestellt.

Überregionale Informationsträger

Wenn Sie Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu bestimmten Krankheiten oder weiterführende Informationen rund um das Thema Gesundheit suchen, finden Sie hier weitere überregionale Informationsangebote.

Checklisten

Informationen zur Behandlung in Deutschland auf einen Blick