Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

Payment of the costs in case of treatment as if you had statutory health insurance (European Health Insurance Card)

If you need medical benefits during a temporary stay in Germany and submit your European Health Insurance Card or Provisional Replacement Certificate to the healthcare provider, this enables you to show that you wish to be treated as a patient who has statutory health insurance in Germany and that the healthcare insurer in your home country will pay the bill.

Proof of entitlement (presentation of a European Health Insurance Card or Provisional Replacement Certificate)

Please present your European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) or Provisional Replacement Certificate (PRC) to the medical professional. The EHIC can generally be found on the rear of your insurance card. If that is not the case, you will need to have the EHIC issued by your healthcare insurer before leaving home. If you are already in Germany and do not have an EHIC with you, you should request your healthcare insurer to issue you with a Provisional Replacement Certificate (PRC), which healthcare providers in Germany can use to bill in exactly the same way as with your EHIC.

The range of benefits available

The EHIC or PRC entitles you to take up all treatment which is medically necessary within the German benefits system during a temporary stay in Germany, taking the length of your intended stay into account. The medical professional decides on the medical necessity. The range of services here is not restricted to emergency treatment only, but can also go beyond this. There is a difference when it comes to deciding on medical necessity regarding whether you are for instance staying in Germany for two weeks or two years. What is clear is that no one should be forced to terminate their stay in Germany early, or to interrupt it or not to come at all because of otherwise not being able to receive medically-necessary treatment in good time. This also applies as a rule if you have a chronic disease or are pregnant.

What benefits can be offered to you via an EHIC or PRC are in line with the statutory range of benefits in Germany. If the law of your home country provides for the benefit which you are seeking, such as a specific form of treatment, but German law does not, you cannot receive treatment in Germany via the EHIC, but at best as if you had private health insurance. As a rule, healthcare providers in Germany know whether or not they can bill a benefit via the statutory health insurance funds. It may therefore be that you do not receive a benefit in Germany via the EHIC to which you would be entitled in your home country. Conversely, you might receive benefits in Germany which are not available under the benefits system in your home country. Using the EHIC can therefore entail either a restriction in an individual case, or it can open up a broader range of treatment.

If you are insured within the Spanish healthcare system and suffer from bad toothache during your summer holiday in Germany, you can go to a registered contract dentist, to whom you present your EHIC, and receive treatment although dental treatment is not covered by the Spanish benefits system. The German dentist bills his or her costs to a German health insurance fund of your choice. The Spanish healthcare insurer is obliged to pay a German invoice which it receives.

Practical procedure

Procedures for patients who have health insurance in another EU country, are staying temporarily in Germany and require medical treatment have been agreed between the National Association of Statutory Health Insurance Funds, the National Association of Statutory Health Insurance Physicians, the National Association of Statutory Health Insurance Dentists, and the German Hospital Federation. We would like to provide you with a brief overview of the core contents of these agreements. You will find more information on this (in German) on the corresponding page of the German Liaison Agency Health Insurance – International or in the link box listed below.

If you develop any symptoms whilst in Germany, please first of all go to a contract doctor or contract dentist. You can consult almost all specialist physicians. If you have a urological problem, for instance, you do not need to start by making an appointment with a general practitioner, but can go directly to a registered urologist. A provider has contract healthcare provider status if the medical professional can be found in the corresponding search engines of the Associations of Statutory Health Insurance Physicians and Associations of Statutory Health Insurance Dentists. Please only go to the registered hospitals in Germany in absolute emergencies. You can naturally also ask the medical professionals directly in advance whether they are permitted to treat persons who have statutory health insurance in Germany at the expense of the health insurance funds.

Present your EHIC or PRC and your identity card to the medical professional. Should you require out-patient hospital treatment or if you are hospitalised, the medical professional will give you a “Patient’s Declaration European Health Insurance”. Dentists use form 81. You must confirm on this form that you did not plan to travel to Germany in order to undergo treatment. You also need to state when you expect to leave Germany. Please also specify in the empty space provided which of the many German health insurance companies you would like to designate as the assisting institution. You can therefore select any German health insurance fund, and are then obliged to remain with this selection for the duration of your treatment. You should therefore remember the name of the health insurance fund.

The medical professional will find the “Patient’s Declaration European Health Insurance” in his or her computer system, or will receive form 81 from his or her Association of Statutory Health Insurance Dentists. The “Patient’s Declaration European Health Insurance” is valid for contract-doctor care, as well as for the out-patient hospital sector and in case of hospitalisation.

The decision on the medically-necessary treatment is taken solely by the medical professional. He or she bills the costs to the assisting German health insurance fund via the responsible Association of Statutory Health Insurance Physicians. The medical professional is to issue certificates of incapacity for work and prescriptions in exactly the same way as for persons who have statutory health insurance in Germany.

Since under German law the assisting German health insurance fund only operates for the healthcare insurer in your home country in an assisting capacity, it has the costs which it has advanced reimbursed by your healthcare insurer. You will notice nothing of this since it is a cost reimbursement procedure operating within the administration.

Costs and co-payments

German legislation provides for co-payments to be paid by patients for benefits within statutory social insurance. Since the EHIC entitles you to be treated as if you had statutory health insurance in Germany, you must pay these in the same amount. This means as a rule that you for instance need to make a co-payment of up to 10.00 Euro per prescription for medicinal products in Germany. If you are aged over 18, you always have to pay 10.00 Euro for each day you stay in hospital, but only for up to a maximum of 28 days per calendar year.

If the medical professional does not accept the EHIC or PRC and you had to pay the invoice in advance yourself, you have the following possibilities as a rule:

  • You can turn to a health insurance fund in Germany and tell them that your EHIC or PRC was not accepted. You can then claim a reimbursement at the German health fund rates in accordance with Art. 25 §4 of Regulation (EC) No 987/2009.
  • You can present the invoice to the healthcare insurer in your home country and request a reimbursement at the rates of the “place of stay” Art. 25 §5 of Regulation (EC) No 987/2009. Your healthcare insurer will enquire of the German Liaison Agency Health Insurance – International as to what the rates are, and then reimburse them to you. This procedure may take quite some time. Please contact the German Liaison Agency Health Insurance – International directly should you have any queries in this regard.
  • You can also submit the invoice to your healthcare insurer and request a reimbursement of the rates applicable in your home country in accordance with Art. 25 §6 of Regulation (EC) No 987/2009.

Advantages and disadvantages of being treated as if you had statutory health insurance with the aid of an EHIC or PRC

The procedure described above with the EHIC or PRC offers you certainty that the lion’s share of the treatment costs will be paid.

You will however need to consider that you may only be treated in Germany by healthcare providers who have a contractual relationship with the statutory health insurance funds there, and may only receive benefits to the extent provided for in Germany.

Documents and Links

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Finding healthcare providers

You will find here a list of links to search engines available on the Internet, with explanations

Regional sources of information

You are living in a border region and you are searching for further regional information sources. Click here for an overview of institutions that could be helpful.

National information media

You will find more national information available here if you want to find out what treatment is available for specific diseases, or if you need further information on the topic of health.

Checklists

Information on treatment in Germany at a glance

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Kostenübernahme bei Behandlung wie gesetzlich Krankenversicherte (Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte)

Sie benötigen während eines vorübergehenden Aufenthaltes in Deutschland medizinische Leistungen und legen beim Leistungserbringer Ihre Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte oder Provisorische Ersatzbescheinigung vor. Damit weisen Sie nach, dass Sie wie eine in Deutschland gesetzlich krankenversicherte Person behandelt werden möchten und dass der Krankenversicherungsträger Ihres Heimatlandes die Kosten übernimmt.

Anspruchsnachweis (Vorlage der Europäischen Krankenversicherungskarte oder der Provisorischen Ersatzbescheinigung)

Bitte legen Sie bei dem Behandler Ihre Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte (EHIC) oder Provisorische Ersatzbescheinigung (PEB) vor. Die EHIC befindet sich in der Regel auf der Rückseite Ihrer Versicherungskarte. Sollte diese dort nicht abgebildet sein müssten Sie sich die EHIC vor Reiseantritt von Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger ausstellen lassen. Befinden Sie sich bereits in Deutschland und führen Sie keine EHIC mit, bitten Sie Ihren Krankenversicherungsträger Ihnen eine Provisorische Ersatzbescheinigung (PEB) auszustellen. Mit dieser können die Leistungserbringer in Deutschland genauso abrechnen wie mit Ihrer EHIC.

Leistungsumfang

Während eines vorübergehenden Aufenthaltes in Deutschland haben Sie mit Hilfe der EHIC oder PEB einen Anspruch auf alle im deutschen Leistungssystem medizinisch notwendigen Behandlungen unter Berücksichtigung der von Ihnen geplanten Aufenthaltsdauer. Über die medizinische Notwendigkeit entscheidet der Behandler. Dabei ist das Leistungsspektrum nicht nur auf Notfallbehandlungen begrenzt, sondern kann über diese hinausgehen. Denn es macht bei der Entscheidung über die medizinische Notwendigkeit einen Unterschied, ob Sie sich zum Beispiel zwei Wochen oder zwei Jahre in Deutschland aufhalten. Klar ist, dass niemand gezwungen sein soll seinen Aufenthalt in Deutschland vorzeitig abzubrechen, zu unterbrechen oder gar nicht erst anzutreten, weil er ansonsten eine medizinisch notwendige Behandlung nicht rechtzeitig erhalten kann. Dies gilt in der Regel auch dann, wenn Sie chronisch krank oder schwanger sind.

Welche Leistungen Ihnen im Rahmen der EHIC oder PEB angeboten werden können, richtet sich nach dem gesetzlichen Leistungsspektrum in Deutschland. Sieht zwar das Recht Ihres Heimatlandes die von Ihnen gewünschte Leistung vor, z. B. eine bestimmte Behandlungsform, nicht aber das Recht in Deutschland, können Sie sich in Deutschland nicht über die EHIC sondern höchstens wie ein privat Krankenversicherter behandeln lassen. In der Regel wissen die Leistungserbringer in Deutschland, ob sie eine Leistung mit den gesetzlichen Krankenkassen abrechnen können oder nicht. Es kann also sein, dass Sie mit Hilfe der EHIC in Deutschland eine Leistung nicht erhalten, die Ihnen im Heimatland zustehen würde. Umgekehrt könnten Sie in Deutschland Leistungen erhalten, die das Leistungssystem Ihres Heimatstaates nicht kennt. Ein Vorgehen über die EHIC kann folglich im Einzelfall entweder eine Einschränkung bedeuten oder Ihnen ein breiteres Behandlungsspektrum ermöglichen.

Sie sind im Spanischen Gesundheitssystem versichert. Während Ihres Sommerurlaubs in Deutschland haben Sie starke Zahnschmerzen. Sie wenden sich an einen niedergelassenen Vertragszahnarzt und legen Ihre EHIC vor. Sie werden behandelt, obwohl zahnärztliche Behandlungen nicht Teil des spanischen Leistungssystems sind. Der deutsche Zahnarzt rechnet seine Kosten mit einer deutschen Krankenkasse Ihrer Wahl ab. Der spanische Krankenversicherungsträger ist bei Erhalt der deutschen Rechnung verpflichtet diese zu erstatten.

Vorgehen in der Praxis

Zwischen dem GKV-Spitzenverband, der Kassenärztlichen Bundesvereinigung, der Kassenzahnärztlichen Bundesvereinigung und der Deutschen Krankenhausgesellschaft wurden Verfahrensweisen für Patientinnen und Patienten vereinbart, die im EU-Ausland krankenversichert sind, sich vorübergehend in Deutschland aufhalten und auf eine medizinische Versorgung angewiesen sind. Wir geben Ihnen einen kurzen Überblick über die Kerninhalte dieser Vereinbarungen. Weitere Informationen hierzu finden Sie auf der entsprechenden Seite der Deutschen Verbindungsstelle Krankenversicherung – Ausland oder in der unten abgebildeten Linkbox.

Bitte wenden Sie sich in Deutschland mit Ihren gesundheitlichen Beschwerden zunächst an eine Vertragsärztin bzw. einen Vertragsarzt oder an eine Vertragszahnärztin bzw. einen Vertragszahnarzt. Sie können fast alle Fachärzte direkt aufsuchen. Bei einem urologischen Problem müssen Sie zum Beispiel nicht zunächst einen Termin mit einem Allgemeinmediziner vereinbaren, sondern können sich direkt an einen niedergelassenen Urologen wenden. Der Status als vertraglicher Leistungserbringer liegt vor, wenn der Behandler in den entsprechenden Suchmaschienen der Kassenärztlichen Vereinigungen bzw. Kassenzahnärztlichen Vereinigungenzu finden ist. Suchen Sie die zugelassenen Krankenhäuser in Deutschland bitte nur in absoluten Notfällen auf. Natürlich können Sie die Behandler auch direkt im Vorfeld fragen, ob sie gesetzlich krankenversicherte Personen in Deutschland zu Lasten der Krankenkassen behandeln dürfen.

Legen Sie dem Behandler Ihre EHIC oder PEB und den Personalausweis vor. Der Behandler händigt Ihnen im Falle einer ambulanten bzw. stationären Behandlung die „Patientenerklärung Europäische Krankenversicherung“ aus. Zahnärzte verwenden das Muster 81. In diesem müssen Sie bestätigen, dass die Einreise nach Deutschland nicht geplant zum Zwecke der Behandlung stattgefunden hat. Sie müssen zudem das voraussichtliche Ausreisedatum aus Deutschland angeben. Des Weiteren tragen Sie in dem entsprechenden Leerfeld ein, welche der zahlreichen deutschen Krankenkassen Sie zum aushelfenden Träger bestimmen möchten. Sie können also irgendeine deutsche Krankenkasse wählen. Sie sind dann für die Dauer der Behandlung an diese Wahl gebunden. Daher sollten Sie sich den Namen der Krankenkasse merken.

Der Behandler findet die „Patientenerklärung Europäische Krankenversicherung" in seinem Computersystem oder er erhält das Muster 81 von seiner Kassenzahnärztlichen Vereinigung. Die „Patientenerklärung Europäische Krankenversicherung“ gilt für die vertragsärztliche Versorgung sowie den ambulanten und stationären Krankenhaussektor.

Die Entscheidung über die medizinisch notwendige Behandlung trifft alleine der Behandler. Er rechnet die Kosten über die zuständige Kassenärztliche Vereinigung mit der aushelfenden deutschen Krankenkasse ab. Arbeitsunfähigkeitsbescheinigungen und Verschreibungen hat der Behandler genauso auszustellen wie für in Deutschland gesetzlich krankenversicherte Personen auch.

Da die aushelfende deutsche Krankenkasse im Rahmen des deutschen Rechts nur aushelfend für den Krankenversicherungsträger Ihres Heimatlandes tätig wird lässt sie sich die von ihr verauslagten Kosten von Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger erstatten. Da es sich hierbei um ein verwaltungsinternes Kostenerstattungsverfahren handelt bekommen Sie von diesem nichts mit.

Kosten und Eigenbeteiligungen

Die deutschen Rechtsvorschriften sehen für Leistungen im Rahmen der gesetzlichen Sozialversicherung Eigenbeteiligungen durch die Patientin oder den Patienten vor. Da Sie mit der EHIC so behandelt werden wie in Deutschland gesetzlich Krankenversicherte müssen Sie diese im gleichen Umfang tragen. Dies bedeutet in der Regel, dass Sie zum Beispiel für Arzneimittel in Deutschland bis zu 10,00 Euro pro Verschreibung an Zuzahlungen leisten müssen. Wenn Sie über 18 Jahre alt sind müssen Sie grundsätzlich 10,00 Euro pro Aufenthaltstag im Krankenhaus zahlen, maximal jedoch für 28 Tage pro Kalenderjahr.

Akzeptiert der Behandler die EHIC oder PEB nicht und mussten Sie die Rechnung selber im Voraus zahlen haben Sie in der Regel folgende Möglichkeiten:

  • Sie können sich an eine Krankenkasse in Deutschland wenden und mitteilen, dass Ihre EHIC oder PEB nicht akzeptiert wurde. Sie können dann nach Art. 25 Abs. 4 Verordnung (EG) Nr. 987/2009 eine Erstattung in Höhe der deutschen Kassensätze geltend machen.
  • Sie können die Rechnung bei dem Krankenversicherungsträger Ihres Heimatlandes einreichen und um Erstattung der Sätze des Aufenthaltsstaats entsprechend Art. 25 Abs. 5 Verordnung (EG) Nr. 987/2009 bitten. Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger fragt die Sätze bei der Deutschen Verbindungsstelle Krankenversicherung – Ausland an und erstattet Ihnen diese. Dieses Verfahren kann längere Zeit in Anspruch nehmen. Bei Rückfragen hierzu nehmen Sie bitte direkt Kontakt zur Deutschen Verbindungsstelle Krankenversicherung – Ausland auf.
  • Sie können die Rechnung auch bei Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger einreichen und nach Art. 25 Abs. 6 Verordnung (EG) Nr. 987/2009 um Erstattung der in Ihrem Heimatland geltenden Sätze bitten.

Vor- und Nachteile einer Behandlung wie gesetzlich Krankenversicherte mit Hilfe der EHIC oder PEB

Das oben beschriebene Vorgehen mit der EHIC oder PEB bietet Ihnen die Sicherheit, dass die Kosten der Behandlung weitestgehend übernommen werden.

Allerdings müssen Sie darauf achten, dass Sie sich in Deutschland nur von Gesundheitsdienstleistern behandeln lassen, die in einem Vertragsverhältnis zu den dortigen gesetzlichen Krankenkassen stehen und erhalten Leistungen nur in dem in Deutschland vorgesehenen Umfang.

Dokumente und Links

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Zum Online-Kontaktformular

Gesundheits- dienstleister finden

Wir bieten Ihnen hier eine kommentierte Linkliste zu Suchmaschinen im Internet.

Informationsangebote in Grenzregionen

Sie leben in einer Grenzregion und suchen weitere regionale Informationsangebote? Hier haben wir eine Übersicht über für Sie hilfreiche Institutionen zusammengestellt.

Überregionale Informationsträger

Wenn Sie Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu bestimmten Krankheiten oder weiterführende Informationen rund um das Thema Gesundheit suchen, finden Sie hier weitere überregionale Informationsangebote.

Checklisten

Informationen zur Behandlung in Deutschland auf einen Blick