Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

Advantages and disadvantages of the cost reimbursement methods when being treated as if you had statutory or private health insurance in case of unplanned treatment in another EU country

If you need medical treatment during a temporary stay in another EU country, you can take up the benefits using your European Health Insurance Card (as if you had insurance in the treatment state), or privately, for which you will have to pay in advance. We will show you below what the advantages and disadvantages of the various procedures are for you and what you need to bear in mind.

EC Regulation No. 883/2004 (treatment as if you had statutory health insurance in the State of stay)

Advantages Disadvantages
You may receive benefits beyond the range of benefits available in Germany which are however covered by the range of benefits in the country of treatment. The list of benefits of the State of stay may contain fewer benefits than the German list.
As a rule, you will only incur costs in the amount of the co-payments provided for in the country of treatment. The law of the state of stay may provide for co-payments which do not exist in Germany or which would be lower in Germany. The healthcare provider in the other EU country furthermore decides whether the treatment which you would like to undergo is medically necessary, taking the length of your stay into account.
Costs are settled directly between the healthcare provider and the assisting foreign health insurer. You may only consult healthcare providers who are authorized to treat persons with statutory health insurance. Your entitlement is limited to benefits which are included in the statutory list of benefits in the country of treatment.
In cases of medical malpractice, you will be treated like a person insured with statutory insurance in the country of treatment. The German health funds are entitled to support you in cases of malpractice; this possibility does not apply in case of malpractice in the country of treatment.
There are no translation costs for invoices.  
The health insurance fund does not make any deductions from the reimbursement for administrative costs or if no “value-for-money audit” can be carried out. If the European Health Insurance Card was not accepted, so that you subsequently apply to your German health insurance fund for a reimbursement of the costs, you might have to pay any shortfall towards the foreign or German insurance fund rate yourself.

Directive 2011/24/EU (treatment as if you had private health insurance)

Advantages Disadvantages
You may also consult private healthcare providers (e.g. private doctors and hospitals). The costs may exceed the amount that is reimbursed by your health fund in Germany.
The benefits you may receive are not restricted to what is available to persons with statutory health insurance in the country of treatment. You will thus be able to also receive benefits that are covered by the statutory range of benefits in Germany, but not in the country of treatment. You will initially have to pay the costs yourself, and will only subsequently receive a reimbursement of at least a part of the costs. You will initially have to pay the costs yourself, and will only subsequently receive a reimbursement of at least a part of the costs.
There is no need to have the costs authorised in many cases. The prior authorisation can also be issued retrospectively by your German health fund in many cases if your illness prevented you from obtaining it in time. The German health fund fund may require the invoice to be translated at your expense if it was not drawn up in German.
If no prior authorisation is required, healthcare can be taken up quickly. Unless otherwise agreed by contract, liability and warranty claims are exclusively governed by the legislation of the country of treatment, and you need to pursue them before the courts there. The German health funds can’t help you.
  There may be language difficulties. It may be necessary to arrange for a translation of the results of prior examinations from Germany, for instance parts of your medical records and – after the treatment – also the results of your foreign medical files, at your own expense.
   

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Find National Contact Points of other EU countries

You will find here a list of National Contact Points of the EU with several contact informations.

Regional sources of information

You are living in a border region and you are searching for further regional information sources. Click here for an overview of institutions that could be helpful.

National information media

You will find more national information available here if you want to find out what treatment is available for specific diseases, or if you need further information on the topic of health.

Checklists

Information on treatment in another EU country at a glance

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Vor- und Nachteile der Kostenerstattungsmöglichkeiten bei Behandlung wie gesetzlich oder privat krankenversicherte Personen in Fällen der ungeplanten Behandlung im EU-Ausland

Sie benötigen während eines vorübergehenden Aufenthalts im EU-Ausland medizinische Leistungen? Sie können die Leistungen mit Ihrer Europäischen Krankenversicherungskarte (wie ein Versicherter im Behandlungsstaat) oder privat gegen Vorleistung in Anspruch nehmen. Wir zeigen Ihnen auf, welche Vor- und Nachteile das jeweilige Verfahren für Sie hat und worauf Sie achten sollten.

EG-Verordnung Nr. 883/2004 (Behandlung wie eine gesetzlich krankenversicherte Person im Aufenthaltsstaat)

Vorteile Nachteile
Sie können Leistungen in Anspruch nehmen, die über den Leistungskatalog in Deutschland hinausgehen, aber zum gesetzlichen Leistungsumfang im Behandlungsstaat gehören. Der Leistungskatalog des Aufenthaltsstaats kann weniger Leistungen enthalten als der deutsche.
Es entstehen Ihnen in der Regel Kosten nur in Höhe des Eigenanteils für gesetzlich Versicherte nach den Regelungen des Behandlungsstaats. Das Recht des Aufenthaltsstaats kann Zuzahlungen und /oder Eigenanteile vorsehen, die es in Deutschland nicht gibt, oder die in Deutschland geringer ausfallen würden. Der Behandler im EU-Ausland entscheidet zudem, ob die von Ihnen gewünschte Behandlung unter Berücksichtigung Ihrer Aufenthaltsdauer medizinisch notwendig ist.
Die Abrechnung der Kosten findet direkt zwischen dem Gesundheitsdienstleister und den beteiligten Krankenversicherungsträgern statt. Es können nur Vertragsdienstleister aufgesucht werden, also z. B. nur Ärztinnen und Ärzte, Zahnärztinnen und Zahnärzte, Krankenhäuser, die einen Vertrag mit der dortigen gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung haben. Ihr Leistungsanspruch ist begrenzt auf die Leistungen, die zum gesetzlichen Leistungskatalog im Behandlungsstaat gehören.
Bei Behandlungsfehlern werden Sie im Behandlungsstaat wie ein gesetzlich Versicherter des dortigen Systems behandelt. Ihre deutsche Krankenkasse hat keinen Vertrag mit dem Gesundheitsdienstleister im Behandlungsstaat und kann Sie daher bei Behandlungsfehlern nicht unmittelbar unterstützen.
Es entstehen keine Übersetzungskosten für Rechnungen.  

Bei der Erstattung berechnet die
Krankenkasse keine Abschläge für Verwaltungskosten und fehlende Wirtschaftlichkeitsprüfungen.
Wurde die Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte nicht akzeptiert und machen Sie anschließend einen Kostenerstattungsanspruch bei Ihrer deutschen Krankenkasse geltend, müssen Sie möglicherweise etwaige Differenzbeträge zum ausländischen oder deutschen Kassensatz selber tragen.

Richtlinie 2011/24/EU (Behandlung wie eine privat krankenversicherte Person)

Vorteile Nachteile
Sie können auch private Gesundheitsdienstleister (z. B. Privatärztinnen und Privatärzte, Privatkrankenhäuser) aufsuchen. Die Kosten können höher sein als die Erstattung durch Ihren Krankenversicherungsträger in Deutschland.
Ihr Leistungsumfang ist nicht auf den für gesetzlich Versicherte im Behandlungsstaat beschränkt. Sie können also auch Leistungen in Anspruch nehmen, die in Deutschland, nicht aber im Behandlungsstaat, zum erfassten Leistungsumfang gehören. Sie müssen die Kosten zunächst selbst begleichen und erhalten erst im Nachhinein die Erstattung zumindest eines Teils der Kosten.
In vielen Fällen ist keine Vorabgenehmigung notwendig. Die Vorabgenehmigung kann auch im Nachhinein von Ihrer Krankenkasse erteilt werden, wenn Sie aus Krankheitsgründen daran gehindert waren, diese rechtzeitig einzuholen. Die Krankenkasse kann verlangen, dass Sie die Rechnung – wenn sie nicht in Deutsch erstellt wurde – auf Ihre Kosten übersetzen lassen.
Wenn keine Vorabgenehmigung notwendig ist, kann die Gesundheitsdienstleistung schnell in Anspruch genommen werden. Haftungs- und Gewährleistungsansprüche richten sich ausschließlich nach dem Recht des Behandlungsstaates und sind von Ihnen nach dortigem Recht zu verfolgen. Ihre deutsche Krankenkasse kann Sie dabei nicht unterstützen.
  Es kann zu Sprachproblemen kommen. Ergebnisse von Voruntersuchungen aus Deutschland, ggf. Teile Ihrer Patientenakte, und nach der Behandlung auch Ergebnisse Ihrer ausländischen Patientenakte, sind ggf. auf Ihre Kosten übersetzen zu lassen.

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Zum Online-Kontaktformular

Kontaktstellen im EU-Ausland finden

Hier finden Sie eine Auflistung von Nationalen Kontaktstellen anderer EU-Staaten.

Informationsangebote in Grenzregionen

Sie leben in einer Grenzregion und suchen weitere regionale Informationsangebote? Hier haben wir eine Übersicht über für Sie hilfreiche Institutionen zusammengestellt.

Überregionale Informationsträger

Wenn Sie Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu bestimmten Krankheiten oder weiterführende Informationen rund um das Thema Gesundheit suchen, finden Sie hier weitere überregionale Informationsangebote.

Checklisten

Informationen zur Behandlung im EU-Ausland auf einen Blick